BTL Blocks IAX

BTL today blocked the popular IAX protocol from passing through their VoIP jamming technology.  IAX, a VoIP protocol developed in conjuction with the Asterisk Open Source PBX, IAX had been a last place of refuge among users that wished to have inexpensive international phone service in Belize.  Previously BTL had limited the blocking to SIP and Sykpe, but today expanded the list to include IAX.    It looks as if they may also have blocked a popular chatting protocol called Jabber, most commonly used in Google Talk.  Way to go BTL!

2 Responses to BTL Blocks IAX

  1. Dennis says:

    Dead easy really. I have 3 highest speed accounts with BTL. In protest for Lord Ashcroft’s disgusting monopoly behaviour I can afford to drop the speed on 2 of these saving me about $600BZE a month. $600BZE that BTL won’t get.

    I have 3 accounts at Belize Bank Ltd. I will close all of these. I have a Belize Bank VISA. I will cancel that. I have a merchant account. I will close that as well. If I use BTL for my international calls, using 10 10 119 I will pay about 100BZE a month.

    My protest is that BTL block Yahoo chat, Google chat, Skype chat, all text chat applications that don’t affect international calls.

    I urge anyone with Belize Bank accounts to do the same. Hit him where it really hurts. If BTL decide to change this ridiculous policy and join the rest of the free world in allowing unfettered access to the privileges that the Internet offers I will reconsider my actions.

  2. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my weblog thus i came to
    “return the favor”.I’m trying to find things to improve my website!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

Leave a Reply

